Large-scale structure (LSS) is a powerful cosmological tool, in particular in combination with weak lensing observations. However, a number of statistical, computational and theoretical challenges will be brought about by the unprecedented depth and data volume of experiments such as the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST). The aim of this workshop is to gather experts in LSS, both within LSST and other collaborations, to achieve a unified picture of the methods and strategies at our disposal to address these problems, as well as to highlight the role of LSS within next-generation surveys as an essential cosmological probe.

The meeting will take place on April 18-20 2018, and will be structured across 5 topics related to the main challenges faced by LSS in the next decade: sky systematics, analysis systematics, statistical methods, computational challenges and modeling uncertainties. We hope to bring together experts on each of these topics to facilitate the discussion of different analysis strategies able to face these challenges.

Workshop details

To register for this conference, please follow the link under the Registration tab.
If you're attending this workshop, make sure to book your hotel as soon as possible, as accommodation in Oxford tends to fill up quickly. More info here.

Important dates

Abstract Submission: 15 March 2018
Registration Deadline: 5 April 2018
Application for travel support: 11 February 2018
Conference: 18-20 April 2018

Travel support

We have limited funding to support the attendance of early-career scientists. To apply for this please send an email to the conference e-mail address (sclss@physics.ox.ac.uk) with a few sentences justifying why you need travel support.


Confirmed speakers

  • Alex Barreira
  • Florian Beutler
  • Sandrine Codis
  • Martin Crocce
  • Tim Eifler
  • Will Hartley
  • Alan Heavens
  • Katrin Heitmann
  • Jens Jasche
  • Elisabeth Krause
  • Boris Leistedt
  • Hiranya Peiris
  • Ashley Ross
  • Eduardo Rozo
  • Masahiro Takada
  • Risa Wechsler

Conference organizers

  • David Alonso (Oxford)
  • Elisa Chisari (Oxford)
  • Pedro Ferreira (Oxford)
  • Anže Slosar (BNL)


We gratefully acknowledge financial support from the following institutions:  LSST Corporation, Beecroft Trust, Simonyi-Gates Challenge Grant, Hintze Family Charitable Foundation, University of Oxford Department of Physics.